My third week at my internship was slow again in comparison to my first week. I’m starting to think that maybe my first week was just exciting because it was my first week doing something new. Either way, I am still so happy at my internship. The people here are amazing and any work within Time Out’s company is great experience for me. I spent some time on Monday working on laminating things for the Time Out Pub Awards that were going on Monday night. I actually got to attend the awards, which was a really cool experience. I ate some great food and tried some top notch beer that night. On Monday I also had to work on researching facts and find images on Instagram of the insane storm that came through Sydney over the weekend. Another intern then took that information and wrote a blog post, which ended up getting an unbelievable amount of views on Time Out’s website. I also continued to clean up the PR Excel master list. Throughout the week I also transcribed several interviews. Most of the interviews I transcribe are ones with musicians, at least that is what most of the ones I worked on this week were. It’s a pretty good skill to have – transcribing interviews, but it’s extremely exhausting since I have to type so much. Another task I had to do was research through Time Out Sydney’s website what was going on in Sydney in the upcoming weekend. I then had to choose what I thought were the five most interesting events and write little blurbs about them. I did this for one of the editors for a radio show that goes on each week where they talk about what is going on over the weekend and in upcoming weeks. Another cool thing I did was I got sent information on competitions that Time Out was going to put on their website. I then had to write up something to intrigue people to want to sign up for the competition to win gift cards. All in all, I definitely sharpened up some of my skills even more this week. It’s the little things while I’m here that really count is what I am starting to learn.
Here are my write ups for the competitions:

Leave a comment