Eating a meal with horses may not sound very appetizing, but let me explain. Windy Corner Market is a one-of-a-kind restaurant that is surrounded by horse farms on each side. Going there to eat almost feels like your own personal escape from the hectic life (for me, college life) you lead on a daily basis. I guess if you are not a huge horse fan, you may not find the surroundings to be so oasis-like, but you get the point.

Windy Corner Market is a restaurant I am thrilled to have stumbled upon during my search for brunch spots in/near Lexington. Although my friends and I did not make it there in time for brunch, the brunch menu sounds nothing less of amazing. I will definitely be back to try it out.

IMG_2113

When my friends and I walked up to the front, the line to order food was out the doors; a good sign that the food was worth waiting for, but a bad sign for us hungry college girls. Reluctantly, we went to the back of the line. To our surprise, the line actually went quite quickly. Within ten minutes (tops), we all ordered our meals and sat down at a table. Since we were so hungry, it felt as though the food took hours to be prepared, but I would say the absolute longest we waited was twenty minutes.

The best feeling after waiting on line to order your meal and then waiting again for the meal to be brought to you, is when you take your first bite and it is better than you even expected. That is what biting into the cheeseburger I ordered was like. I kid you not, the cheeseburger I had at Windy Corner Market was one of the best burgers I have ever tried. My favorite part of the burger is that the meat on it was actually from Kentucky. It does not get more local than that.

IMG_2111

My friends both got pulled pork dishes and I could tell by their faces that they were in heaven. Before we left Windy Corner Market, I got a blueberry muffin to go. That was one of the best decisions I had made all day. Not only are the meals at Windy Corner Market out of this world, their pastries are too.

When it is all said and done, Windy Corner Market is a restaurant that you cannot miss out on. They have something on the menu for everyone, especially if you are a breakfast lover who gets there before noon! The scenery does not suck either. You may not actually be eating your meal with the horses, but the horses are your view if you choose to go on the peaceful outdoor seating route. For those of you who do not feel like looking at horses while you eat, don’t you worry, there is plenty of seating inside as well. All of you food lovers out there, be sure to knock this restaurant off the list of places you MUST try while in Lexington, Kentucky.

Leave a comment